Thoughts on The Lost Expedition

Warning: This post contains SPOILERS for both The Lost Expedition AND Pop TV. Read at your own risk…

After writing last night’s post about the second graphic being out for days now, I asked a few people on Discord if they read it or not. I found out that PHB author Brave Tomato has read it, and that there IS a ton of lore and stuff in it, so I had to get it!

I got it way sooner than expected, AKA this morning.

image

And so I read it.

I just have to say that I was not disappointed. It was way better than MotM, like much, much better. This may have to do with it being written by a different author than MotM, a longtime Creator who’s name I cannot remember, I mean Mitch Krapta, and he’s gonna be writing the rest of the series, which is awesome!

One of the major differences is that instead of just being on that one island, they went to a bunch, we helped make the book more interesting. The main characters in TLE were much more likable than in MotM, even though I still find Jorge to be super annoying and unneeded. As for the minor ones, they were pretty darn cool too, unlike those stupid Vikings from MotM.

I still wish that they would actually go to real islands from the game though. They got real close this time, the first island featured other than that stupid Viking one is one that seems to be a mix of Poptropolis and Mythology. So maybe islands like Wild West or Mystery Train will be mentioned in the next graphic novel.

But the best part would have to be the lore we learned. I’m not gonna go explaining that today, though. I have so many theories because of the Lost Expedition, so get hyped for the longest and craziest Theory Thursday EVER. Sadly, my Mystery Train and Time Tangled Island are plays theory was proven false, but one of my oldest theories will be getting a major upgrade. It’s gonna be awesome, just wait and see.

However, there’s something else I should discuss…my fan fiction.

Towards the end of the book, it is revealed that Octavian is NOT from Earth/the real world like many people theorized, including myself. He’s from…POMPEII!!!

image.jpeg

Dude, don’t go back to AD 79, you’re gonna die when that volcano erupts!!!

We shouldn’t be surprised, to be honest. The name Octavian IS Latin, after all. And his skin tone and hair color does look pretty Mediterranean to me.

Here’s the thing though. A major plot point of Pop TV was going to be about how Octavian is from the same small town in Massachusetts as Piper, and is actually her…scroll down if you don’t wanna know…

 

 

 

uncle.

 

 

 

But now if he’s from Pompeii, I don’t know what to do. The entire fan fiction is kinda ruined. You could just say that it doesn’t matter if it doesn’t match up to the graphic novels, as it’s a fan FICTION, but you gotta remember that this series is about what it would be like if Poptropica was a cartoon on TV, so it has to be as canon as possible.

So this leaves me a few options…

1. Cancel the series altogether.

2. Leave it as how it originally was gonna be.

3. Change a few details of the series without cancelling it!

4. Wait until New Pop comes out and redo the series.

Since I know many of you readers can’t comment, you can share your thoughts in this poll:

I’d also like to point out that Octavian has been shown to act suspicious about Earth, so changing the part about him being from present day Earth will be way, way harder to correct.

And the New Pop could mess up some stuff as well, so I don’t know what to do anymore!

So until I come up with a solution, or change the entire story around, Pop TV will be on hiatus for an unknown amount of time. This could be from a few days to a few months. Even if we do decide to keep it going, new episodes won’t be out for a while since school starts soon and I’ll be super busy. What terrible timing…

Look, I’m really sorry about this guys. But I made a mistake, I should have followed the paths of many other cartoons and not say much about the lore until later on in the series. You never know when stuff like this will happen.

Anyways, I’ll see you on Thursday for my biggest theory yet. Oh wait, I think some other random post will be posted tomorrow. But then the theory will be out… *wink*

-Tall Cactus

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Thoughts on The Lost Expedition

  1. He’s probably going to die and his grave is going to be in ash, so I don’t really care. After all, he is evil in MotM.

    Like

  2. Well, I think there is a really simple way of changing some details, for example: maybe Octavian was born on the city that Piper was born, but he moved away to Pompeii for his career. And when Mt. Vesuvius erupted, his brother ( AKA Piper’s dad) borrowed him Piper’s medallion to create a portal to move away to poptropica ( because he didn’t want to go with his brother) and his brother took an underground tunnel to go to Rome and take his plane flight back to Massachusetts, and he took the medallion back to the U.S. When you put it like that its not that complicated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

