Theory Thursdays: Will New Pop Be Targeted to Older Audiences?

theorythursdays

Hey guys, welcome back to Theory Thursdays, and no, it’s not Mini this week. Today’s theory is a theory deserving of an entire post. Just you keep reading…

Don’t you think it’s strange that all the contests lately have been through social media, not the actual game itself like years past? Yeah, it stinks, but there may be a reason behind this, and New Pop.

The Creators, mainly Skinny Moon (please don’t hate me for the Green Sweater song), are finally communicating with the community, and they probably figured out that most players, well, the ones that actually make an account and continue to play, are older now. Teenagers, like myself. Even some adults, like Slanted Fish or…Thinknoodles. You see where I’m going with this, right?

I’m starting to have a feeling that the real reason New Pop is being made is so the content is somewhat more mature, to please this active community of adolescents, not 6 or 7 year-olds.

I’m not saying New Pop will have blood or guns or more violence, I mean that the stories will be more complex, darker. Even in the current Pop, just compare Early Poptropica to Survival, the change in tone is obvious, and it’s already started happening. Poptropica is much different than it used to be, that’s for sure.

Not only that, but I’m pretty sure my copies of the graphic novels say something like “for ages 8-12”. Not 6-15.

Again, they know a ton of high schoolers and maybe a few college students play, so I feel like New Pop won’t have a maximum age limit at the very least, I know for certain the APP doesn’t.

It’s most likely the New Pop could be an 8+ game, or maybe even a 10+ one, who even knows at this point?

Either way, the majority of the community won’t be affected by an age change, most of us are tweens/teens anyway, like I mentioned a dozen times. Even I turned 13 a little more than a month ago…

So, what are your thoughts on this? If this is actually true, I would actually be pretty happy about it, I’m ready for a more complex Poptropica.

-Tall Cactus 

7 thoughts on “Theory Thursdays: Will New Pop Be Targeted to Older Audiences?

  1. Sorry, but I don’t see how finding someone’s pair of missing pants, or landing on an island with monkey butlers are complex storylines. Did you not see all those posts they’ve made about StoryArc and New Pop?

    I don’t mean to burst your bubble, but they are certainly going to keep it as it is: a game for children. Sure, it can still appeal to anyone of any age, but they’ll have to make it so little kids can understand.

    I guess Survival was just a one-off thing. Still pretty funny though. 😛

    Even if there are complex storylines, I wouldn’t be able to take them seriously.

    TL;DR: No, Poptropica is a game mostly for kids, and it will remain that way. I like ruining things at 2 A.M.

    Like

  2. i don’t know personally. i think you have a very good point, which stinks because i only have WordPress and Youtube. i just personally hope it’s not, because i actually like the kid-ish feel to it.
    Though i wouldn’t mind a return of Ringmaster Raven…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

