Copyrighted Costumes

Hey guys. Today I just wanted to make a short, yet crucial, post, regarding the #MyPoptropicaCostume contest.

While a good majority of the entires so far are absolutely amazing, I’ve seen many that are, well, copyright violations. I don’t know why, but the Creators forgot to add the no copyrighted costumes part to the official contest rules this time around. Actually, I think they may have mentioned it, but they didn’t seem to make it clear enough. And if one of these costumes wins, like if a Creator doesn’t know it’s a copy of a franchise that already exists…we are in some big trouble.

The winning design is not like an ad costume. With ads, the companies specifically pay Poptropica to advertise their product so more people buy/watch said product. These companies allow Pop to use their copyrighted stuff, basically.

But if a copyrighted violated costume wins, and the true owner finds out, Pop could possibly get sued. And if Pop gets sued, I have no clue what would happen to the game.

So please, make sure all your entries are original. That’s all I ask of you.

-Tall Cactus

 

5 thoughts on “Copyrighted Costumes

  1. This has been one of the hardest things for me to do. I am a major fangirl and this sort of thing is my life. I briefly toyed with the idea of Harry Potter robes, but came to the same conclusion.

    Like

Leave a Reply

