The New Poptropica: Dreams and Realities (Pt. 1)

NOTE: This post is not meant to criticize the game or offend the Creators. It is just some of my thoughts on the matter. Please respect my opinions, and I will respect your’s.

It all started one day, just about a month ago…

I had just gotten home from school that Monday afternoon. I went on my phone right away to check the Creators’ Blog, only to see this:

Screenshot 2016-05-24 at 3.36.21 PM.png

That April day, everything changed, forever, for the better or the worse…

Well, hey Poptropicans! As you can see, today is Part 1 of my weekly New Poptropica series. Every Tuesday before the official release, see me share my thoughts, predictions, worries, and rants about this huge update, which may not be as good as it seems…with realities possibly ruining all our perfect dreams.

So, yeah, let’s start this. The only other time that I shared my thoughts on the New Pop / Pop 2.0 was back on April 25th, right after I saw the Creators’ Blog and PHB posts that afternoon. I was a little late to see the news since I was at school all day, but whatever. You can read the post here, even though my thoughts on the New Pop have totally changed over the past month. But it’s still kinda funny to see, so go check it out if you want.

Another rambling, let’s start this post for real now!

OK, so a couple of days ago HPuterpop posted about a New Pop update on the PHB. Read it here. Done reading it? Yes? Good. Because, well…*takes deep breath*

You see, I was already worried that the New Pop would be bad, but the whole fact that the New Pop is being built on Unity, which makes 3D games and doesn’t work on Chrome, just ruined that part of me that was excited for this update. If there’s something you should know about me, it’s that 1. I HATE 3D games and 2. I use Chrome. So it’s no surprise that I’m upset about this. Look, this is real bad, for me, the community, and the game itself. Most people use Chrome, so less people will be able to actually play the game. And many people who have been playing this game for a long time will be sad to see their childhood of islands like Early Poptropica and Shark Tooth Island replaced with Poptropicans that look like every other online avatar. Even though I’ve only been playing since March 2015, it was far enough back that Home Island didn’t even exist, there were no tutorials at all. And yet that was fun, more fun than Pop is today. Another point to make is that though the Current, soon to be Old Poptropica will not be deleted or anything, new players aren’t going to play it. They will only know the New Poptropica. That’s very upsetting.

Hopefully those Creators will just comment on that post so that there will be at least a little new information…

But before then, let me just share some of my ideas for Pop 2.0, as production on it is still in the early stages.

  • A better Home/Hub Island, hopefully like Skydock, which seems to have been cancelled…
  • Those pet thingies from Mocktropica…
  • Real villain backstories…
  • An explanation on the map…
  • The REAL origin of Poptropica, not like MotM…
  • and more to come!

That’s all for now. I’ll see you next Tuesday, as I will be discussing StoryArc Media, sharing some more ideas, and researching a game called….Adventure Pig?!

Stay ranting,

Tall Cactus

14 thoughts on “The New Poptropica: Dreams and Realities (Pt. 1)

  1. And TC, looking at some of the links in the Unity with Poptropica post, I found a way around it. Copy paste this in your address bar in Chrome: chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

    Like

    • Oh no. Sadly, I read the article again, and I am terribly, terribly wrong. Unity uses something called NPAPI (which, with further research means Netscape Plugin Application Programming Interface) and apparently, Chrome Version 42 disables support for that.

      Also, further research tells me that the plug wasn’t just targeting Unity, it was targeting EVERYTHING that uses NPAPI. The website I’m looking at says the most popular that use it are Unity, Silverlight, and… JAVA? THEN HOW ARE WE ABLE TO PLAY FLASH GAMES?!?

      Like

Leave a comment